ABC Media Release: Winners Announced in the 2008 ABC Local Radio Awards

Go down

ABC Media Release: Winners Announced in the 2008 ABC Local Radio Awards

Post  Admin on Fri May 02, 2008 7:35 am

ABC Media Release: Winners Announced in the 2008 ABC Local Radio Awards


hile some at the ABC wait for their chance to grab gold at the Logies on
Sunday night, ABC Radio celebrated the winners of the 2008 ABC Local Radio
Awards this evening at a presentation ceremony in Sydney.

Hosted by ABC TV personality James O’Loghlin, the Awards were presented in
front of senior politicians, leading community members and ABC staff.
Established in 2001 and open to all staff contributing to the ABC’s nine
metropolitan and 51 regional stations, the Awards are designed to celebrate
the best of Local Radio across Australia.

The Awards ceremony is part of a two-day forum covering issues affecting ABC
Local Radio program-makers across Australia.

The coveted Station of the Year (Metropolitan) award went to 666 ABC
Canberra. Townsville station, 630 ABC North Queensland took out Station of
the Year (Regional) and 774 ABC Melbourne’s Red Symons was named Broadcaster
of the Year.

A full list of winners follows.

Director ABC Radio & Regional Content - and Awards judge - Sue Howard said
the awards celebrate the diverse range of work produced by ABC Local Radio
from across the country.

“These Awards highlight the talent of our staff and their commitment to
producing entertaining and inspiring radio for audiences. I congratulate
everyone recognised this evening,” Ms Howard said.

The Awards were presented by Her Excellency Professor Marie Bashir, AC, COV,
Governor of New South Wales; Senator the Hon Stephen Conroy - Minister for
Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy; The Hon John Watkins MP –
Deputy Premier, Minister for Transport & Minister for Finance representing
the Premier of New South Wales; Chairman of the ABC Maurice L. Newman AC;
ABC Managing Director Mark Scott; Director ABC Radio & Regional Content Sue
Howard; Director ABC Innovation Ian Carroll.



Station of the Year (Metropolitan)
666 ABC Canberra

Station of the Year (Regional)
630 ABC North Queensland

Broadcaster of the Year
Red Symons – 774 ABC Melbourne

Rural Reporter of the Year
Kim Honan – ABC Mid North Coast

Sports Broadcaster of the Year
Quentin Hull - general coverage

Online Feature of the Year (joint winners)
Fiona Churchman & Ping Lo for ‘Stolen Generation’
Kim Honan for ‘Eating Close to Home: The Locavore Challenge’

Website of the Year
Nick Kittel & Ping Lo for

Local Program of the Year (Metropolitan & Networked)
Mornings with Madonna King – 612 ABC Brisbane

Local Program of the Year (Regional)
Drive with Roisin McCann – ABC Northern Tasmania

Outstanding Coverage of a Local Story or Emergency (by an Individual,
Program or Station)
1233 ABC Newcastle for ‘The June Long Weekend Storms 2007’

The Paul Bodington Award for an Outstanding Radio Feature/Package by an
Phil Ashley-Brown, 702 ABC Sydney for ‘Stella’s Lung Transplant’

Outside Broadcast of the Year (Metropolitan)
Breakfast with Adam Spencer, 702 ABC Sydney – World in Sydney

Outside Broadcast of the Year (Regional)
Northern Territory Country Hour – Outback Odyssey

Community Event of the Year
Heywire in Canberra 2008

Promotions Producer of the Year
Andrew Taylor – 774 ABC Melbourne & ABC Local Radio Victoria

Producer of the Year
Brad McCahon – 720 ABC Perth

Best New Talent on Local Radio (joint winners)
Andy Muirhead – 936 ABC Hobart
Ping Lo – 666 ABC Canberra

Marketing Campaign of the Year
Natalene Muscat & Felicity Greenland, 774 ABC Melbourne – ‘100% Pure Footy


For further information contact:
Warwick Tiernan
ABC Radio Marketing
Tel: 03 9626 1610 / 0438 356 373


This release available at

Posts : 101
Join date : 2008-04-30
Age : 53
Location : Melbourne, Australia

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum